How I keep up with the latest technologies

How I keep up with the latest technologies

Learn how to keep up to date with the latest technologies in the rapidly changing world of software development.

“How do you keep up with the latest trends and technologies?” I was once asked in an interview.

"I use daily.dev!" was my immediate response. This is my second year using this platform and this is how I found it.

Tech was one of the things I was excited about when I was in school - CES and MSW events, Apple presentations, new HTC smartphones... Of course, I read numerous tech reviews without any preference - everything was interesting to me. The only thing I wanted was to have one source where I could read all the articles from different websites. And this problem was solved thanks to RSS feeds and Feedly, which greatly improved the quality of reading.

I was slowly transitioning from tech to coding and Feedly was good for general content (news) but now I wanted to see context on a particular topic. Not all blogs have RSS feeds, and not all blogs only publish articles that are of interest to me. So I gave up on Feedly, saving the articles and blogs I wanted to read in my Telegram's Saved Messages. A step back in convenience, but the trade-off was definitely worth it.

As my experience grew, I became less and less satisfied with having to maintain a list of sources myself (or my value of tools that "just work" grew). Anyway, I wanted a tool that would do all the work for me. I wanted a tool that could collect programming articles and suggest content based on my preferences, so I googled something like "programming article aggregators". That's how I found daily.dev.

I don't think I can promote the platform better than the platform itself, so just watch the video.

For those who are interested in my description - daily.dev is a personalized feed with articles from various sources. And personalization here means you can either make it “broad” and read about absolutely everything (like I did with tech news and Feedly) or make it “deep” and have 100 articles about the useEffect hook in React. daily.dev also cares about healthy collaboration - in my opinion, the platform has one of the best communities, and the words "place where developers grow together" is a very accurate description. And daily.dev is full of extra features with a beautiful UI that makes things even better.

I have no idea how to calculate the value that daily.dev brings every day, but it definitely brings a ton.

Share your profile if you're already on daily.dev or if I convinced you to join!